Awards & Honors

Georgia Tech faculty and staff receive recognition.

Georgia Tech President **Wayne Clough** is the new university co-vice chair of the Council on Competitiveness. It is a nonpartisan, non-profit organization whose members are corporation chief executives, university professors and labor leaders dedicated to setting an action agenda to drive U.S. economic competitiveness and leadership.

nnn

The American Physical Society awarded its 2005 Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics to Regents' Professor of Physics Uzi Landman. He was cited for "pioneering computations that have generated unique insights into the physics of materials at the nanometer-length scale, thereby fostering new theoretical and experimental research." Also, Landman was recently elected as a fellow of the Institute of Physics in Great Britain.

nnn

Seth Marder, a professor in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, was elected a fellow of the Optical Society of America. He and his colleague Professor Joseph Perry recently developed a 3-D microfabrication technique that uses a unique class of lightactivated molecules to selectively initiate chemical reactions within polymers and other materials. It could provide an efficient way to produce complex structures with sub-micron features.

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor **James Meindl** received the 2004 Aristotle Award from the Semiconductor Research Corporation for "outstanding teaching in its broadest sense." The award also recognized his outstanding research. Meindl is director of the Microelectronics Research Center at Georgia Tech.

nnn

School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor **A.P. Sakis Meliopoulos** r eceived the IEEE Richard Harold Kaufmann Award for "exceptional contributions to power system grounding design and testing procedures."

nnn

The 2004 IEEE Education Activities Board Award for Meritorious Service in Accreditation Activities was presented to **William E. Sayle**, associate chair of the School of Electrical and ComputerEngineering. He was cited "for contributions to enhancing the quality of engineering accreditation and dedicated service to ABET/IEEE accreditation bodies."

nnn

The American Association for the Advancement of Science recently elected thefollowing Georgia Tech faculty members as fellows.

n **Richard A. Demillo**, dean of the College of Computing, for distinguished contributions to the fields of computer security, software engineering, and mathematics, with particular emphasis on information security.

n **Rigoberto Hemandez**, associate professor in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, for innovative computational methods and theoretical models for understanding structural and dynamic chemical behavior and fo r commitment to diversity and inclusiveness in science.

n **Peter J. Hesketh**, professor of mechanical engineering, for the development of MEMS microfluidic and microvalve devices and biosensors and for the application of stereolithogr aphy in fabric ating prototype chemical sensors.

n John F. McDonald, chair of the School of Biology, for pioneering work on the evolution of transposable genetic elements and their contributions to gene and genome structure and function.

n **Gary B. Schuster**, dean of the College of Sciences, for pioneering research in organic photochemistryandfor leadership of the academic enterprise.

nnn

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) recently elected thefollowing Georgia Tech faculty members as fellows.

n **Gee-Kung Chang**, professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, for contributions to optical networking and label switching technologies.

n Mark A. Clements, professor in the School of Electrical and ComputerEngineering, for contributions to speech signal processing and robust speech recognition.

n William Marshall Leach, professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, for contributions to electroacoustics and nearfield antenna measurements. n Gary Gene Gimmestad, principal research scientist in the Georgia Tech Research Institute, for contributions

to atmospheric remote

sensing technology.

n Herbert Michael Harris, principal research engineer in the Georgia Tech Research Institute, for contributions to the electrical and thermal properties of wide bandgap semiconductors.

n Joy Laskar, director of the Georgia Electronic Design Center and professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Ergineering, for contributions to the modeling and development of high-frequency communication modules.

n **Kok-Meng Lee**, professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering, for contributions to actuator and vision-based sensor design for manufacturing automation.

nnn For the second consecutive vear, the Research News & Publications Office (RNPO) has won the top award fo r media relations programs in the District III Advancement Awards Program of the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). RNPO also won awards for publishing Georgia Tech's RESEARCH HORIZONS Magazine, and for photography used in RESEARCH HORIZONS and the Georgia Tech Research Institute annual report.

Among the Tech professors recently inducted as fellows into the American Association for the Advancement of Science was Iohn F. McDonald, chair of the School of Biology, a pioneer in the evolution of transposable genetic elements and their contributions to gene and genome structure and function.

